Halloween, Disney, And 4 Year Old Me.

halloween

Morning Pages

10.22.16 6:07am

Wow, I actually got up early. That’s nice.

Halloween is about a week away, and for some reason I still haven’t gotten into “the spirit” yet. Halloween is, of course, my absolute favorite holiday and it always has been.

I can’t say for sure what got me into it. All I know is that as a child I was drawn to it way more than anything else that happened during the year. I think the first thing I ever dressed up as was the scarecrow from Wizard of Oz when I was something like three years old. That wasn’t my choice though. My parents picked that one out for me.

The first costume I had picked out for myself was probably the next year where I opted to be a vampire with fake blood and everything. I was once fascinated with the classic image of a vampire, this was before Twilight came along and destroyed it for me.

It was somewhere around this time in my life where my grandmother handed me an odd looking VHS tape. The cover made it look like a cartoon, but it wasn’t like the ones I was used to. I asked what it was, to which she responded, “It’s just some dumb movie” then walked off. This was my introduction to The Nightmare Before Christmas, and no, I did not think it was a dumb movie.

131784084_tim-burtons-the-nightmare-before-christmas-disney-vhs-1

(Not my actual VHS tape. Thank you Google)

I believe I had seen Beetlejuice and Edward Scissorhands at that point, both of which are obviously from Tim Burton, but Nightmare was something different for me. I was already very much obsessed with art and animation by that point in my life, and as far as stop-motion was concerned, Nightmare was the best thing I had ever seen. Sure, Beetlejuice and Edward Scissorhands felt like they were set in Burtonized worlds with human characters, but Nightmare was 100% fantasy and I loved it.

It was also sometime around this part of my life that my parents took me on my very first trip to Disneyland.

Seeing Mickey was fun, and so were the rides, but what I didn’t expect to find there was something more fitting to my tastes. Among all the magic and happiness sat an old, potentially haunted,(and probably very exciting) house. I was about four years old at the time, and I had no idea what was up with that random house in the middle of the park, but I knew I wanted in.

maxresdefault

This of course was The Haunted Mansion, and four year old me fell in love with it. I do believe I was that child who would scream “Let’s do it again!!” in a very annoying tone after each ride. I even asked my parents to get me a glow in the dark Haunted Mansion shirt, and yes, I did wear it on my thousandth round on the ride. I’m sure you can guess what my favorite shirt was as a child.

I’m sure my trip to Disney only fueled my enthusiasm about Halloween. Things would become more difficult with the years to come, but Halloween was always something interesting, especially when you’re in other parts of the world.

And now to listen to the Nightmare soundtrack. Thank you, Danny Elfman.

I can’t wait til Halloween.

-Reign

Leave a Reply

