Where Do We Go Now?

Morning Pages 11.10.16 6:24am

Good morning everyone.

I’m going to focus more on just pouring my thoughts onto the page today, so bear with me. This is going to be much more of a streamed consciousness post, as these pages should be.

I woke up at 6am, which at this point was about half an hour ago. Based off the collective mood of the country right now (and other factors), I really didn’t want to get out of bed. Yet, here I am. Before you assume anything, this isn’t necessarily about politics. It’s simply about how I’m feeling right now. It’s natural to feel a bit unnerved when there’s trouble at home.

The odd thing here is that no matter what side you are/were on, there seems to be no winner. Everyone’s spirits are down, no matter where you look. Even the ones celebrating are facing backlash from friends and family. My point is, it’s quite clear that things are rough right now.

Again, I’m just spitting out thoughts here, so here’s the main thing that’s on my mind. I do NOT care what your political views are. I don’t care who you voted for, or who you chose to support. I’m throwing that out the window. The election is over, and this is where we are now. Whether you like it or not, we’re going to have to figure out where we go from here.

Home seems to be engulfed in this apocalyptic dread right now, and people are trying to figure out who to blame.

I took a step back and tried pausing all the chaos for a second, and here is what I observed. I see no evil here. Not from any side. All I see are tired, desperate people who want something better, but have no idea what to do next. I see people who are lashing out because they feel betrayed somehow, or because they feel there is no way out.

It’s natural to feel hurt, or lost. It’s also healthy to take time to allow yourself to feel that way for a bit.

My opinion is that it’s not over, no matter how bad things may seem. You’re still breathing, so there is still opportunity here. It may not be easy, or fair, but is anything worth fighting for so easily obtained?

This isn’t a call for some pseudo-revolution. I guess my entire point here is that there will still be a tomorrow, and it literally (I normally hate using that word, but I mean it in this case) is NOT the end of the world. You are still here. There will be a tomorrow. You still have choices to make.

Anyway, I really didn’t want to make this post about what I think YOU should do, even if it ended up sounding that way. To be clear, this isn’t an anti-Trump post. Like I said, I’m throwing sides out the window for now.

All I ask is where we go from here. I mean that in the most optimistic way possible, and I’m not known for being optimistic.

Take time to sit down in silence, breathe, and gather your thoughts.

Have a great day.

-Reign

Leave a Reply

