Who Lives In This Room?

01.13.2017 6:00am

Hello everyone, and happy Friday the 13th.

I normally just sit here and write whatever is on my mind, but today I’m going to be using a journal prompt just to get things going. Here it is:

Explore the room you’re in as if you’re seeing it for the first time. Pretend you know nothing. What do you see? Who is the person who lives there?

Ok, so I won’t go all out here and actually pretend that I don’t know who lives here, but let me give you a little written description of my room/work area. Maybe I’ll do a “studio tour” one day for the hell of it.

Upon walking in, I’ve got a wall to my left, a table in front of me, and a bed and desk to my right. The table is my art station, and at the moment it’s a huge mess. Actually, the whole room is. I prefer that things stay cleaned up and squared away, but when I get into my depressive periods I tend to neglect my chores a bit. My art station has a few boxes on it that I need to throw out today, some art pads, pencils, pens, etc. I’ve even got a makeup bag sitting there all opened and torn apart in all directions.

My bed is simple. Black sheets and pillowcases with a Nightmare Before Christmas blanket to keep me warm. My desk is where I edit my videos. I’ve got two monitors that are covered in post-it notes with various ideas on them. I’ve also got a corkboard here that has extra notes and other things hanging up. Behind my monitors, I’ve got a penguin calendar, and a DIY glasses holder for my round glasses that I’m somewhat known for. Next to them are my keys that happen to be on a mini lightsaber key chain, and a vintage Kikaida 01 card in full Japanese. My desk is probably the cleanest area in my room right now, but it is still a little messy. I’ve got my BB-8 cup, several Pokemon plushies, and an eyeshadow kit just sitting around here. Aside from what I’ve mentioned, I don’t have a lot going on–just my boring closet that’s actually pretty neat and OCD friendly.

If I was walking in here for the first time, I would absolutely be able to tell that this is the room of a very lost, (somehow) self-employed millennial that’s honestly got no clue how to keep her shit together. That isn’t me shitting on myself, that’s just the truth you see when you walk in. I actually find it a little amusing, something I think I’ll look back on and smile at. I think this room belongs to someone with a lot of potential, who just doesn’t know how to direct herself just yet. Growing pains suck. 🙂 (Yes, I needed to put a smiley there so solidify my millennial trash status.)

I’ve got a ton to do today, and I haven’t gotten any sleep at all. My fault, so I can’t complain, but today will definitely be a drag for me. I’ve got a lot of ideas, though. That feels good. I may not know if they’re good ideas or not, but at least I’m heading somewhere.  I can’t go into details right now, but there’s one final piece to the channel I’m trying to figure out–one final series to wrap the stray bits up. Hopefully something comes to mind today and I’ll be able to show you soon.

Have a great day.

-Reign

2 thoughts on “Who Lives In This Room?

Leave a Reply

